Extended Research – Blog Post 3

These art some of my artist models that I am going to be using for my final piece. These are all from campaigns and movements to do with racial discrimination.

I’m Tired

Co-creators Paula Akpan and Harriet Evans created this movement called “I’m Tired”, which highlights what individuals are most tired of in their lives relating to discrimination. For example, an individual wrote, ‘I’m tired of my intelligence being associated with my ethnicity’. And another “I’m tired of being visible to some and invisible to others”.

For this movement they use three things; photography, written words and the human body. What I really like about this movement is that it’s really powerful and simple. It uses again, personal stories, thoughts and encounters and all of them are unique in the way that none of the written words on their bare back are the same. They are all different and that emphasises the point that we are all different and that is ok. It is important because it includes everyone of any race and age, and it also just makes people more aware. It’s so simple, yet so effective. It’s raw, and gets to the point, and with 100’s of different bodies with words all together in a gallery, it is really empowering.

I would like to create something like this for my final creative art work. Using written words, photography and instead of the bare back, I was thinking of using the face. I think a portrait with written words would be very powerful, however I do understand why ‘I’m Tired’ used backs, as ‘Participants remain anonymous providing a safe and honest platform to be both vulnerable and empowered.’ With using the face, I’m also limiting the size of the canvas, however I really think that a portrait of the face would be very powerful.

imtired

Fig 1. Harriet Evans. I’m tired of my intelligence being associated with my ethnicity. N.d, Photograph, I’m Tired. I’m Tired. https://theimtiredproject.com/#jp-carousel-125

Islamophobia

portrait

Fig 2. Ridwan Adhami. Islamophobia. N.d, Photograph. Ridwan Adhami http://www.ridwanadhami.com/#6

What I like about Ridwan Adhami’s ‘Islamophobia’ photograph, is that it’s really in your face. The scale and proportion of the face being the most dominant by taking up the whole canvas of the design, making it grab your attention and kind of make you feel uncomfortable at how close up the design is. Then with the words I think it was interesting to see words stuck on his face, giving the design a different texture, with the use of repetition. The use of having words stuck all over his face, with words that people call him because of the colour of his skin, creates a mask, an identity, that people have made for him. He already has an identity made for him by society, this stereotype of being a terrorist, an Al Qaeda. But in all honestly, we don’t know him at all. This is the problem people of colour face everyday. We are our own people, we are not just a stereotype.

Un-Fair Campaign

unfair

Fig 3. Un-Fair Campaign. Un-Fair. N.d, Photograph, Un-Fair Campaign. Pinterest. https://nz.pinterest.com/pin/319192692330826016/

Un-Fair Campaign which is the third poster/artist model, was a campaign about anti-racism that went wrong. They focussed on the idea of ‘white privilege’ and put it on billboards and posters with the slogan, “It’s hard to see RACISM when you’re white” Other taglines include, “Is white skin really fair skin?” and “I am a white man.’ With the town Duluth Minnesota, being 90% Caucasian and having these plastered around the whole town, people were offended as they made a blanket generalization of all white people, “You can’t open a discussion on race and hope to see it move in a positive direction when you raise the topic by stereotyping an entire race”. But in their design, they used a portrait, and written words to try convey their message, which is not wrong, however, just didn’t do it in the right way for what the were trying to say.

Racial Microagressions

mmn

Fig 4. Kiyun Kim. Racial Microagressions. 11 December 2013, Photography. My Modern Met. http://mymodernmet.com/kiyun-kim-racial-microaggressions/

You’re Wrong Google

Screen Shot 2017-06-08 at 10.00.33 pm

Fig 5. Andrei Ivascu. You’re Wrong, Google. N.d, Digital Design and Photography. Andrei Ivascu.

http://www.andrei-ivascu.ro/youre-wrong-google-anti-racism-campaign#!prettyPhoto[“gallery“]/3/

Overall, these artist models, are simple yet effective, using about three elements in their designs to convey a message. Using the human body, a photograph and words. I am hoping to do a combination of these for my final creative piece.

Works Cited

Chiaramonte, “Perry. Anti-racism ad campaign in Minnesota town called ‘racist’ by critics”. Fox News U.S, 22 June 2012. http://www.foxnews.com/us/2012/06/22/duluth-residents-say-anti-racism-ad-campaign-is-racist.html

Pinar. “Racial Comments Heard by Teenagers on a Daily Basis.” My Modern Met, 11 December 2013. http://mymodernmet.com/kiyun-kim-racial-microaggressions/

Ivascu, Andrei. “You’re wrong Google.” Anti-Racism Campaign. Andrei Ivascu, N.dhttp://www.andrei-ivascu.ro/youre-wrong-google-anti-racism-campaign

Leave a Reply

